Clip 2 – 10 December - Law 21

Ball hits corner post from penalty kick

Argentina are penalised just inside the Barbarians' half. Elton Jantjies of the Barbarians kicks to the touchline on his left, hoping to get a line-out near the Argentinian line. The ball flies downfield, hits the top of the corner post and goes into touch-in-goal.

The referee awards a scrum to Argentina where Jantjies kicked the ball, inside the Barbarians' half.

Right?

Law 21.12: BALL KICKED DEAD THROUGH IN-GOAL

If a team kicks the ball through their opponents’ in-goal from the field of play into touch-in-goal or on or over the dead-ball line, except by an unsuccessful kick at goal or attempted dropped goal, the defending team can choose:
                a. To have a drop-out anywhere on or behind the 22-metre line; or
                b. To have a scrum at the place where the ball was kicked.

It is irrelevant whether the ball touched the corner post or not. It went into touch-in-goal - from the field of play into touch-in-goal. The option to Argentina was a drop-out or a scrum where Jantjies kicked the ball. They chose the scrum.

This was the correct decision.

outsurance.co.za advert