Clip 2 - 11 July 2018 - Law 11

As time runs out with the Chiefs leading 24-19 at Waikato Stadium, the Brumbies have the ball going left and right through 11 phases up to the Chiefs 22.

They get the ball back from yet another tackle/ruck. Matt Lewis passes to Wharenui Hawera on his right. Hawera seeks to pass inside to Lausii Taliauli. In comes big Tyler Ardron of the Chiefs. Taliauli and Ardron put out a hand to the ball.

The referee indicates a knock-on first by the Brumbies and then by the Chiefs, and orders a scrum with the Chiefs to put the ball in. The Chiefs win the scrum and Damian McKenzie kicks the ball into touch to end the match.

Replays show what a difficult decision it was. The referee had an obscured view of the event, but it certainly was a knock on. Whose hand first touched the ball - Taliauli's or Ardron's?

The referee decided that it was Taliauli's hand and so the scrum was awarded to the Chiefs. Had it been Ardron's hand it would have been a scrum to the Brumbies and they could have continued their effort to win the game.

Commentators suggest that the referee may have been wrong. One says: "Surely that's a situation that's worth revisiting."

One presumes that he means referring it to the TMO, but the TMO protocol does not allow for such a referral.

The Protocol

The Global TMO Trial extends the jurisdiction of the TMO in two ways:

  • The adjudication of decisions when the team in possession of the ball has touched the ball down in the in-goal area and any of the match officials have a view that there was a potential infringement in the field of play with limitations
  • The review of potential acts of foul play or to assist in the determination of sanctions for foul play.

This is not a case of foul play, nor has the ball been touched down in in-goal.

The referee looks to have made the right decision.

outsurance.co.za advert