Clip 4 – 4 July 2018 - Law 9

A penalty to the Brumbies gives them a line-out on the Hurricanes' 22. Hooker Folau Fainga'a throws into the line-out for the Brumbies and finds his jumper Tom Cusack.

Cusack brings the ball down and a maul is formed around him. The Brumbies work the ball back till Fainga'a has it. The Brumbies No.8, Isi Naisarani, is caught up in the maul but he falls to ground alone and the maul crumbles somewhat.

The referee says: "Your man's taken it down." The maul is allowed to go on till it collapses and the referee awards a scrum to the Hurricanes.

"Your man's taken it down."

This is not an uncommon occurrence.

Law 9.20 Dangerous play in a ruck or maul

  • A player must not intentionally collapse a ruck or a maul.

A player:

The team he plays for is not relevant. A player means a player on either sided. The fact that Naisarani is a Brumby does not give him the right to collapse the maul.

outsurance.co.za advert