Clip 2 - 6 March 2018 - Law 19

No infringement but the referee stopped play.

Rory Best of Ireland charges forward. Two Italian players, Alessandro Zanni (4) and Nicola Quaglio (1), grab Best, and the three fall to ground. The ball comes back to Ireland who are playing away from the place of the tackle.

The referee asks Quaglio if he is all right. Getting no replay from Quaglio, who is stretched out on the ground, the referee stops play.

In the replay it is clear that Zanni's head made contact with Quaglio's jaw.

Quaglio is back on his feet and the referee restarts play with a scrum to Ireland.

Right?

First of all, the referee was well within his rights to stop play.

Law 6.8 The referee carries a whistle and blows it:
b. To stop play. The referee has the power to stop play at any time.
h. When it would be dangerous to let play continue or when it is suspected that a player is seriously injured.

The referee here is concerned for the players wellbeing. That is his primary duty in a match. The referee has the power to call off a match entirely if he believes that conditions are dangerous for the players.

Secondly, the referee was right to award the scrum to Ireland

Law 19.1

For a stoppage because of injury, the place of the scrum is at the point where the ball was last played. The team last in possession puts the ball in.

When the referee blew his whistle Ireland had the ball.

This is excellent refereeing. 

outsurance.co.za advert