Clip 3 - 31 October 2017 - Law 19
From inside their 22, the Blue Bulls play the ball to Marnitz Boshoff who kicks for the touchline on his right. Garth April of the Sharks, who is just in touch, catches the ball. The assistant referee awards the throw-in to the Blue Bulls, thus annoying the Sharks' supporters.
This is a new piece of law, still in the testing stage and it is not surprising that there are people who are unaware of it. But what is sadly evident is that they don't trust the match officials. The assistant referee was right and all the people who booed him were wrong.
LAW AMENDMENT TRIAL
In this case, if the ball has reached the plane of touch when it is caught, then the catcher is not deemed to have taken the ball into touch. If the ball has not reached the plane of touch when it is caught or picked up, then the catcher is deemed to have taken the ball into touch, regardless of whether the ball was in motion or stationary.