Clip 5 - 26 July 2015 - Law 17

Why their scrum?

Jordie Barrett of the Hurricanes kicks high. Ross Cronje of the Lions jumps catches the ball and as he comes to ground TJ Perenara and Sam Lousi grab him. Others gather - Ruan Ackermann and Franco Mostert of the Lions and Jeffery To’omaga-Allen of the Hurricanes, and others. It's a maul.

Cronje is held up, the referee blows the whistle to declare the maul unplayable and awards the scrum to the Lions, which raises and eyebrow or two.

Law 17.6 (h) 17.6 Unsuccessful end to a maul
(a) A maul ends unsuccessfully if it remains stationary or has stopped moving forward for longer than 5 seconds and a scrum is ordered.
(b) A maul ends unsuccessfully if the ball becomes unplayable or collapses (not as a result of foul play) and a scrum is ordered.
(c) Scrum following maul. The ball is thrown in by the team not in possession when the maul began. If the referee cannot decide which team had possession, the team moving forward before the maul stopped throws in the ball. If neither team was moving forward, the attacking team throws in the ball.
(h) Scrum after a maul when catcher is held. If a player catches the ball direct from an opponent’s kick, except from a kick-off or a drop-out, and the player is immediately held by an opponent, a maul may form. Then if the maul remains stationary, stops moving forward for longer than 5 seconds, or if the ball becomes unplayable, and a scrum is ordered, the team of the ball-catcher throws in the ball.
‘Direct from an opponent’s kick’ means the ball did not touch another player or the ground before the player caught it.

There it is, tucked away in (h). Barrett kicked, Cronje caught, Cronje was immediately held, a maul formed, the ball became unplayable and the scrum went to the team of the ball-catcher.

Note this applies only to a maul, not to a tackle or a ruck. 

outsurance.co.za advert