Clip 4 - 24 February 2017 - Law 19

Just a little nitpick. In fact only a possible nitpick. But it does serve to remind us of a recent change to the laws.

Ireland win the ball from a tackle/ruck and centre Robbie Henshaw passes to wing Simon Zebo. Zebo knocks on, the ball falls to ground and Zebo kicks it into touch.

The referee offers Italy the option of a line-out or a scrum. (Till recently, it would have been a scrum for the knock-on.) Italy opt for a line-out.

Law 19.4 (b) When the ball goes into touch from a knock-on or throw forward, the non-offending team will have the option of a line-out at the point the ball crossed the touch line, or a scrum at the place of the knock-on or throw forward, or a quick throw in.

The nitpick: does the ball go into touch from the knock-on? It goes into touch from Zebo's kick. the knock-on is complete when the ball hits the ground.

It would seem that the correct decision should have been a scrum but it is a good reminder of the law change. advert